Captive In The Dark (The Dark Duet #1) by C.J. Roberts

23 May

image

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he
holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and
kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.
Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia
is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to
accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

*WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious
consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

______________________

“Quotes”

“This isn’t a romance. You’re not a damsel in distress and I’m not the handsome prince come to save you.”
― C.J. Roberts , Captive in the Dark

” I wrapped my arms around him and held on as hard as I could. He was my tormentor and my solace: the creator of the dark and the light within. I didn’t care that he would undoubtedly hurt me at any moment, right now; I just needed somebody to hold me… To tell me these exact words. Its going to be okay. It wasn’t of course, I knew that. But I didn’t care, I needed the lie.”
― C.J. Roberts , Captive in the Dark

“Where is all your bravery now, Pet? No clawing, no hissing? Where’s my though girl? – Caleb”
― C.J. Roberts , Captive in the Dark

______________________

“Review”

Even with how dark this book is, I FUCKIN LOVE IT! I think i am weird, how can i possibly love reading it, when it is dark,twisted,broken and so Fucked up. Hell yeah, it is. I feel sad for pet/kitten/Livvie/Olivia for all the suffering bestowed upon her, Why her? She wants to have a life and to be able to proved to her no good mother that she can be somebody someday. All of that hope is gone when she became a captive; Caleb, her captor hurts her and warms her at the same time, so at that time she is suffering from confusion on what to feel towards Caleb. DEEM! Who wouldn’t be confused? Caleb is a CONFUSED YUMMY FUCKED UP SON OF A BITCH!!!! He has mood swings, hahaha when i started reading this book I was having mood swings too, at first i wanted to smother Caleb, but along the way i got to understand why is he so fucked up and would do such thing to a poor girl.
Well after wanting to smother him, i also wanted to comfort him because i feel sorry for him ! Sorry for all the misfortunes & pain that he suffered. At the end of the book, i feel happy that Caleb has started to feel something towards Livvie. 🙂 I am sure that this book would always stay on my mind, the story is unique and i think people should read it. It will let you realized on how important a Day is, to be able to see the sun
rise and set. 🙂

_________________________

image

 

image

Reviewed by Adriane.

Leave a Reply

