Until I Break by M. Leighton

14 Jun

20130614-083822.jpg

“I’m intrigued. Tempted beyond what I’ve ever been before. To know her, to open her up. To break her.”
In love, sometimes what you fear most is exactly what you need. Laura Drake is an author. She writes bestselling paranormal romances that continue to top the charts. She is sharp. She is confident. She is
in control. And she doesn’t exist.
Samantha Jansen is the woman behind the wig, the woman most of the world doesn’t know exists. She is shy. She is insecure. She is nothing like her main character or her alter ego. She is scarred—deeply scarred—by a past she can’t let go of and a present she can’t make peace with. Samantha’s dreams are consumed by one man, the broken hero from her books. Mason Strait is both her wildest fantasy and her most terrifying nightmare. When Samantha meets Alec Brand, a corporate consultant, it is as
though Mason has come to life. Alec is handsome to a fault, as elegant as he is arrogant, and more intense than any man has a right to be. Samantha is soon sucked into a world that mirrors the fiction she
writes. Just like her main character, Daire Kirby, Samantha finds herself unable to resist the forbidden lure of Alec. And just like Daire,
she also finds that she is faced with taking a chance on a man who could either set her free or destroy her. The scale tilts toward destruction when Samantha finds out that Alec is as much a work of fiction as Mason. And he has scars of his own,
scars that could ruin them both.

**This book may be read as a stand-alone, as the story of Alec and
Samantha comes to a conclusion in this book**

_________________________________________________

“Quotes”

“Every person’s worst fear-that no one will be able to love us in spite
of our scars.”
― M. Leighton , Until I Break

“In love, sometimes what you fear is exactly what you need.”
― M. Leighton , Until I Break

“As surely as I’m sitting here, I know I would forever regret it if I
didn’t say yes to this man. At least once.”
― M. Leighton , Until I Break

“Tonight is your one free pass. Just know that the next time you look
at me this way, I’ll feel compelled to do something about it.”
― M. Leighton , Until I Break

“What I don’t think this man realizes is that he’s giving my dreams–
and my nightmares–a new name.
“Brand. Alec Brand.”
― M. Leighton , Until I Break

“If you’re going to look at me that way, I might need to warn you
about me,” he says, taking a step toward me. Instinctively, I retreat.
One side of his mouth quirks into a wry grin. “Or maybe you already
know.”
― M. Leighton , Until I Break

_________________________________________________

“Review”

4.5 WONDERFUL STARS 😀

“In love, sometimes what you fear most is exactly what you need”
I think you should read the book to fully understand the quote, and i am sad that not everyone would get a chance to read this
twisted and very wonderful book, because it was pulled out from publication. 😦 *strokes chin* Curiousity Killed the CAT! (deem! Sheeeesh.. I am still alive)
I was curious, that is the Only reason why i read this book. So i read it and have known why SOME** People DID NOT LIKED IT… grumpy me* WARNING!!! 😀
If you are looking for hearts and flowers-> read another book!
If you are expecting for PRINCE CHARMING to pop OUT on your EREADER anytime soon -> Hell! That would neverhappened
If you are looking for BOOK couples that are MADLY IN LAVA, for the entire time! -> Back off 🙂 But if you . . . Want to read a beautiful story, with two WOUNDED souls who would do EVERYTHING, just to be able to CURE each other!!! (well enjoy the ride, you have found the book)

“I was dead before I met you and I’ll be dead again if you ever
leave me,” I told Samantha.
She leaned up on one elbow and tilted her head to one side,
considering me. “You don’t have to worry about that. This is
safe with me,” she said, kissing the left side of my chest, right
over my heart.”

What did you think?
After knowing Samantha’s past,in my fictional point of view, i wasn’t sold on why it became really tragic for her. Well if it happened in real life!! sure it is tragic. gruufff!! Samantha is having a “WALLBANGER issue” (if you read Wallbanger! You will know that she is having the same problem, as that of the heroine in that book ). She have this problem because of her past. Thanks to her BIATCH MOTHER!!! Don’t get me wrong! I do love her character, because she is true to herself (AMEN! For crying out loud… she knows what she wants) , and she is a strong woman,who is willing to love and redeem the person she loves. For Alec, i did not liked him at first because he is an ASS! HEAL & BREAK!! That is his expertise…

“So that’s it?” she asks, sitting up in bed, the sheet falling away from the skyward-pointing tips of her breasts. “I’m in this all alone? You’re just here for the therapy. Is that it?”
I turn toward her, meeting her gaze, knowing she won’t like what she sees. “I’ve told you from the beginning. I’ve been honest. I’ve warned you not to get attached.”
Her expression is a combination of hurt and indignation. “Oh and it’s just that easy, right? Just don’t get attached. Let someone in, pour your heart out to them, trust them, give them your body and soul, but don’t get attached. Oh, okay,” she snaps, flinging back the covers. “I get it.”
When all the secrets were revealed! I feel sorry for what happened to Alec, he have to leave Samantha to protect
her…

“That’s all I wanted from you. To know you, to know the truth.” I look into her liquid smoke eyes as I reach for her wrist. I see the hurt register in them when I fling her hand away.
“Congratulations. You got what you wanted. And now you know why you’ll never be enough for me,” I say harshly, wanting to make this as painful as I possibly can so that both of us will move on and never look back. “Now get out.”
Her face shows stunned disbelief. “Out!”

After feeling sorry, i feel happy because they were able to resolved their issues and were able to free each other!

“Alec, you can’t stop me from trusting you. And you can’t stop me from making you whole again. Because I will. I owe us that. We both deserve it.” I know with a certainty I’ve never done anything to deserve someone like Samantha. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. But listening to her makes it seem like we might just have a shot. If only I can keep from hurting her… And give themselves a chance to try to live a life full of Love 😀

“I can’t make you any promises.”

“I’m not asking for any. All I want is for you to try, to give me a chance. I’ll show you that it can work. That we can work.
Alec, you’re perfect for me. And I’m perfect for you.”

After their rough journey, they still got to live happily ever after…

“Ohmigod, ohmigod, ohmigod! This is it, isn’t it?”

“If you mean that I’m going to marry your sister and make her deliriously happy, then yes. This is it.” 😀

“I think I might’ve fallen in love with you that very day. And a little bit more every day after. I tried to let you go. I thought I could live without you, that I could move on. But I couldn’t. I could hardly last a day.”

My heart swells at his words. Alec has told me he loves me a thousand times, but never like this. He’s never opened up like this before. His confession is like a rare, night-blooming flower —so precious and so fleeting that I’m afraid to blink and miss one glorious second of its beauty.

“I don’t ever want to be without you again. Air doesn’t feel the same. Food doesn’t satisfy me. Water doesn’t quench my thirst.
In my life, for as long as it burns on this earth, there is only you, Samantha. Only you. Forever.

”THE END 🙂
P.s. i also love Chris, Samantha’s sister.. I want to know if she will get her Happy ever after too. (unfortunately, there wouldbe no story for her)

Reviewed by Adriane

Leave a Reply

