This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

3 Nov

Image

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Image

~Review~

It’s known that human beings make mistakes or error as it’s often called. That we aren’t perfect. But how would you feel to be trapped in a world that you die everyday to be a part of it. To want desperately to be seen by others. To be you. To feel that you mean something… that you are indeed lovable.

But the real question is: How much you will go to be part of a crowd and be yourself?

Only that the yourself that you thought din’t existed and in your path of self discovery you get the chance to be the real you. A person with flaws and yet a person that no matter the cut or bruises always listen to the beat of the music.

This is Elise Dembowski’s life.

“Vicky,” I said, resting my hands on her shoulders. “Repeat after me. I deserve to be here.”

“I deserve to be here,” Vicky said, looking into my eyes.

“I don’t care if anyone thinks I look stupid.”

“I don’t care if anyone thinks I look stupid,” Vicky echoed quietly.

“Okay.” I took my hands off her shoulders. “Do you stuff out there. Show no mercy.”

***
Char talked about reading the crowd like you’d read a book, but tonight I had moved beyond even that. It felt like invisible veins and arteries ran between me and every person in that room, communicating information between us instantly and noiselessly. It wasn’t like reading a story. It was like I was writing a story.

********************************************************************

The story was rich and compelling. It touches the heart of the reader in such a deep way. There were parts that I ached for Elise and other’s where I wanted to be that friend she always wanted. Because her loneliness was true/ real in every single way. You get to know Elise so well and when she’s happy you get to be happy too. Also the author present’s many theme’s that will engage the reader even more. In simple words I enjoyed so much this book and it’s a hidden gem. It’s a story inside a story. One that I recommend with closed eyes and an open heart.

Cast: 

Image

MeetElise Dembowski, a  girl who her entire life been watching life happen from the side lines. High school is torture to her and she lives with an emptiness and a desire to belong somewhere. Until one night she is called from the other side of the road to meet her passion and love for Djing.

One step. One chance. One night. To prove she has it all to be the very best.

Image

“I saw myself as so much more, so much brighter.” – This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Review by LuLu

Leave a Reply

