Review of Out of My Grave & Interview with Author Stephanie O’Hanlon

3 Apr

Image

Annalee Harding is an upper-middle classed young woman in 1792 London. She spends her days in her large home daydreaming endlessly, wishing a dark stranger would whisk her away. Her wish comes true after Vincent Moor, an American aristocrat, moves into the dark manor just outside of town. He catches her eye; his dark aura draws her in until she finds out that he is unlike other gentlemen—being over a hundred years old and thirsting for blood.

Buy links:

Eternal Press: http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729951

Amazon.ca eBook: http://www.amazon.ca/Out-of-My-Grave-ebook/dp/B00EG65DGK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1376187452&sr=8-2&keywords=Out+of+My+Grave

Amazon.ca paperback: http://www.amazon.ca/Out-My-Grave-Stephanie-OHanlon/dp/1615729968/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1380068743&sr=8-1

Amazon.com eBook: http://www.amazon.com/Out-of-My-Grave-ebook/dp/B00EG65DGK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1376187509&sr=8-2&keywords=Out+of+My+Grave

Amazon.com paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Out-My-Grave-Stephanie-OHanlon/dp/1615729968/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1377137804&sr=8-5&keywords=Out+of+My+Grave

Kobo eBook: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-CA/ebook/out-of-my-grave-1

Chapters Indigo paperback: http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/out-of-my-grave/9781615729968-item.html?ikwid=Out+of+My+Grave&ikwsec=Home&gcs_requestid=0CMCYodepqLkCFYG85wodL0AAAA

Barnes & Noble eBook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/out-of-my-grave-stephanie-ohanlon/1100369745?ean=9781615729951

Barnes & Noble paperback: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/out-of-my-grave-stephanie-ohanlon/1100369745?ean=9781615729968

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/out-of-my-grave/id687934456?mt=11

https://intellectualvixens.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/wpid-421211_1398597733689552_322082514_n.jpg

~Review~

First of all I want to say that this was a unique book for me. I have read historical romances many times before, I have paranormal just as many times but this was (I’m quite sure) my very first historical paranormal romance. And I loved it! I enjoyed reading all the details about Annalee’s character, even her dresses and all the places were described in detail. It made it so much easier to picture everything. In addition to this all the characters are well developed and interesting, especially Annalee. She is an uncommon lady. who is tired of the society and its ways. She doesn’t want to marry someone she doesn’t love. Then she meets a stranger. A new comer to London’s society. Vincent is an American. She is instantly attracted to him and feels as if there were something missing about him. Soon she discovers that he is not a mere mortal but a Vampire, who likes to kill people. But can she stop being attracted to him because of this?

This is a story of strong woman and a very mysterious man. I loved reading it and will recommend it to the fans of historical and/or paranormal. O’Hanlon has a unique writing style and it seems that she knows a lot about the time period in which this book is set. I think that is also an important factor which made this book such a delightful read.

~Interview with Stephanie O’Hanlon~

1. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?
Well, I was born in Collingwood, Ontario, but now live in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area). I went to the Toronto Film School, hoping to get into directing, but found out I wasn’t very good at it, which then led to writing. I’ve been doing that ever since!

2. Can you tell us something about your writing journey, like when did you write your first book or how did you get your first book published?
I will never forget when I started writing. It was a rainy day in July in 2008, and I was bored, thinking that maybe it would be fun to revisit some of the writing exercises I did in high school. I think the realization that I wasn’t very good at much else other than screenwriting was starting to dawn on me, so I was sort of mentally preparing myself to get into something more promising for my future. Well, it went from a few paragraphs to a few pages then to a hundred pages. I decided that instead of jumping into finding a job in film, I would take off a month to write (with the blessing of my mother). Obviously, the month turned into much longer, and after a few bumps in the road, a little experiment with self-publishing, in 2012 I queried Eternal Press and they agreed to publish Affaire de Coeur. The rest is history!

3. What genre are your books? Can you tell us what draws to this genre?
Other than my forthcoming horror novel, which is a modern horror, my novels tend to be historical romance. I also have a passionate love for vampires and vampire romance, so I also sometimes add in the vampire element to my historical romances.
I just love history, specifically the 18th century. I write in other eras, but Baroque and Rococo is my favourite style to write about. There’s just something that pulls me into it.

4. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you deal with it?
Believe it or not, I talk to my friends and my mother. I like hearing other people’s stories, memories, things that they are interested in. It helps to sort of “awaken” what’s in my mind, gets my character ready to talk. Then they sometimes don’t shut up! But, that’s how pages are made.

5. For your own reading, do you prefer ebooks or traditional paper/hard back books?
I prefer paperback and hardcovers, hardcovers especially, I have a few first editions in my collection. I just love the feel of it, the smell of them, turning the page. I also stare at a computer screen for most of my day while I’m working, being a full-time author, so I enjoy the break of actually having pages in front of me.

6. What are you writing these days? What are your hopes for the future?
Right now I am working on a sequel to an unreleased novel of mine. It’s another paranormal historical romance, set in 1775 New Orleans. I wrote the first installment after Out of My Grave, so I think readers will see the improvement in the quality of writing. My hopes are to have the first installment published next, after my horror novel The Beast of Bradley Downs is released sometime next year. So it may be 2015 when it becomes available, if it gets accepted for publication.

7. How can readers discover more about you and your work?
They can visit my Facebook page (www.facebook.com/stephanieohanlonauthor) or my blog (www.stephanieohanlonauthor.blogspot.ca). You can find links to where to buy as well as my bio on both!

8. What do you like to do when you’re not writing? What are your hobbies?
I’m usually writing in some form, always coming up with new ideas, but I like to watch movies, read (a lot!), and do research. The 18th century is one of my major hobbies, so I’m always on the lookout for new material on the actual history as well as fashion references. I’m almost always reading something about Marie-Antoinette as well.

9. Who is you favourite author?
Anne Rice is my favourite author. I started out writing paranormal romance, influenced by The Vampire Chronicles. Out of My Grave is actually my debut novel, though it was re-released by Eternal Press after Affaire de Coeur. Mrs. Rice’s writing is into description as well as action and emotions, so I try to convey the same in my own novels.

10. Any message for your readers or aspiring writer or a public message for all of us.
For readers, I say thank you for even reading my work! Whether you loved it or hated it, thank you. That’s what writers want, to be heard, to have their character’s stories shared with everyone. So, I’m so grateful for Eternal Press and anyone that reads my work.
For aspiring writers, don’t give up. It’s a tough business, so make sure you’re tough as well, and ready to put in the work for it. It’s pretty rare to write your first novel and find an agent right off the bat. It takes a lot of time, effort, and dedication. You have to make sure you really want to be a writer, and do it for yourself. Write because you love to write!

P.S. I would like to thank the author for a free copy of the book, as well as, her time to answer my questions. It was a pleasure having you on our blog. ❤ ❤

Post by Fizza.

Leave a Reply

