Broken by Nicola Haken

21 Mar

20646135

 

wpid-synopsis-divider.jpg

When Theodore Davenport decides to switch his mundane job for a career, he walks into Holden House Publishing with enthusiasm and determination to succeed. As he settles into his new role, makes new friends, and dreams of making it to the top, everything is going to plan.

Until he meets James Holden, CEO of Holden House.

James Holden hasn’t been able to stop thinking about his encounter with the timid man he met in a club bathroom last week, and when he discovers the one haunting his dreams is an employee, he can’t seem to stop himself from pursuing him.

Just a little fun – that’s what James tells himself. He can’t afford to care for someone who can never reciprocate, not once they find out who he really is. James believes nobody deserves the burden of being attached to him. He’s a complicated man. Damaged. Difficult. Demanding.

Broken.

Is Theodore strong enough to confront James’ demons? More importantly, is James?

Please note:This book contains scenes of self harm, mental illness and suicidal ideation which may be uncomfortable for some readers.

 

***Received copy by author in exchange of an honest review***

~Review~

Sometimes when war or changes are coming, drums are heard. The wind carries its sound across the earth and it ripples across the untamable ocean, in a continuous echo. And I heard it. I heard the drums as I read Broken by Nicola Haken.  Change was inevitable. Words where skipping across the pages and my heart felt heavy and free as I lived this story.  There are many books in this vast world of literature, but I must say that this one has a permanent place in my library and heart. I confess that I had to pause this story for a while to compose my mind, heart and life. I was no longer reading; I was listening to the voices of each character, felling to a degree that it was too much, I wanted to scream, punch something, cry and love, I was enthralled.

The author portrayed a unique and heart wrenching story, it was beautiful. I feel so honored to read this, and a piece of my heart will always belong to these couple, but James will always be my baby. I love him so much, and even if he’s a fictional character I want to say this to you, James.

Keep fighting for you, stay strong and chin up, because you also gave me strength. Don’t know why or how you just did. And I thank you for that.-

#IAMUNBROKEN

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

 Untitled

Reviewed by Lexi Wings

Leave a Reply

